...red hair (I'm okay with gingers). shorter than me (...ehh) looked to be the age of 20 (that's just inappropriate).
as I was walking to give a presentation for work.
...turns out he was in graduate school for chemistry. Either had a young face or a child genius with a knack for small talk.
He sparked up a conversation as I power walked to the meeting, papers in hand attempting to walk and review (note to self: not safe on uneven sidewalks). He shot off questions so quickly that there was not the slightest pause long enough for me to pull myself away.
As I walked into the building, he asked if I wanted to get ice cream (MMm ice cream, I thought) but told him I was seeing someone. At the time I was...kind of. Even if I wasn't, the excuse still would have been used.
I left feeling flattered and wishing people did that more often....and by people I mean, Mr. Perfect (for me).
........
Today at the grocery store I see a familiar face as I walk through the produce section. I think little of it and continue to find the next item on my shopping list.
As I stand in front of a billion different flavors of Thai seasoning, that familiar face pops up next to me and says "Lots of options, huh?"...I kindly responded "There are just way too many options" at which point he bursts into questions, one after the other.
- What are you making?
- What are you doing later?
- Do you cook a lot?
- What is the most unique thing you've ever made?
- Where do you work?
- Do you get free tickets?
- How long have you been here?
- Do you live in the area?
- Have you ever been to the young professional events?
I found that moment and that is exactly what I said.
With 4 more items on my list I prayed I wouldn't see him again...and then poof! there he is as I double check for no cracked eggs. He asked if I would like to get coffee. (the date was 70% more likely to happen when he suggested ice cream).
He truly did not remember me. I failed to make the slightest impression on him (amnesia? blind? Ouch, this stings). This guy would try to get a date with any girl he could make eye contact with. (damn my small town roots, raised to always smile back)
I said I had a boyfriend (complete and total lie....hmph.)
His response, get ready for it...
"Oh, well that's good, I'm glad you didn't say it was because I was shorter than you or something"
Insert: the most awkwardly fake pity-laugh imaginable.
I couldn't decide if I felt more embarrassed for him or for me.
Hiç yorum yok:
Yorum Gönder